I was working at Florida Hospital Waterman in Eustis when my good friend Cindi came to my office and told me what happened. After that its kind of a blur.

Views: 145

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I was working that day. It happened just a few months after our daughter Irene had died. I'm ashamed of myself because when that story broke all I could think of was "now all those people know how I am feeling" I just felt numb inside. To this day I still feel numb inside when they talk about that day.
My brother died June 11, 2001, but I didn't find out about his death until Thanksgiving Day 2001. I really hate that year, 2001.
I was a middle school teacher at the time. We were in homeroom and were about to change classes and go to first period when they came on the PA system and told us to turn on our TV's (every room in the school was equipped with a TV with cable access). I remember when I turned the TV on, the 2nd plane had just hit and they were showing that 10 seconds of footage over and over and over mixed in with the footage of the people running from the buildings. I had 30 12 and 13 year olds in my room and I had to try to explain this to them. They were so bewildered and confused, and also desensitized to violence on TV - to them it was like watching a movie - like it wasn't real. And they didn't understand why anyone would want to attack us, we are supposed to be the good guys - they had no concept that there were people out there that hated our country enough to do something like this. The magnitude of what was happening just did not register for them. I kept telling them over and over again - you are going to remember this day and watching this on tv and where you were when this happened for the rest of your life - you don't understand right now but what is happening right now is going to change this country forever. And they really really didn't understand. Having to focus on them and trying to explain to them what was going on kept me from re